translate drop-down-arrow address frog facebook arrow-right-swiper phone arrow-left-swiper scroll-down scroll-up right-arrow-link twitter search email instagram
Nightingale Academy

The King's Church of England School

Learning with truth and love

Interactive Bar


Justice - Grace - Trust
Thankfulness - Aspiration - Celebration

Higher Education and UCAS



There are three main levels of higher education:


  • A Degree typically last three or four year, full-time and allow students to enter graduate professions;
  • A foundation degree is an employment related higher education qualification, which takes two years full-time;


A Higher National Diploma (HND) or A Diploma of Higher Education (DipHE) usually take two years. They can be converted into a degree by taking one or two years extra study and there is also the option of applying for Level 3 Apprenticeships after A Levels.


Types of Degree


Degrees are typically subdivided into the following categories:


  • Vocational degrees, e.g. dentistry and nursing;
  • Non-Vocational (or academic) degrees, e.g. History and English Literature
  • Semi-vocational degrees, e.g. economics and engineering.


However, the most important category is what is right for you. We will be here to help you decide.



Applying for Higher Education


The process of applying for courses in Higher Education, whether directly to a university or through UCAS (University and College Admissions System) can be fraught and stressful. Again, our expert staff will provide all the help and support that you need.

Get In Touch

Information Block