Meet the Staff

Senior Leadership Team


Executive Headteacher Mrs E Verow

Having first joined the school as Head of English in 2006, Mrs Verow was appointed deputy headteacher in 2014, then Head of School in 2016. Recently converting as a Church of England school, she has worked hard to ensure that our Christian values of justice, grace, trust, thankfulness, aspiration and celebration are at the heart of everything we do.

As headteacher, Mrs Verow’s role focuses on the leadership and management of the whole school where she has a specific responsibility for school strategy and ethos, whole school policies, personnel, finance and resources. Mrs Verow also takes a lead role in representing the Newcastle Under Lyme District schools as part of the secondary headteacher's forum for Staffordshire.

In September 2017, Mrs Verow became Executive Headteacher of both The King’s CE (A) and St Thomas CE (A) Primary School. As part of a local collaboration, the closer working relationship between both schools aims to enhance the provision of education for all students in Kidsgrove.



Deputy Headteacher Mr W Wilson

Mr Wilson first joined The King's in July 2015 after a successful career working with the local government and the private sector as a school’s improvement officer. Along with his teaching role, Mr Wilson currently has responsibility for student attainment and progress where he tracks the progress of all our students and strengthens their high aspirations to ensure they are given every opportunity to realise their potential.

Mr Wilson also supports each faculty area with short and long term strategic planning as well as coordinating the spending of Pupil Premium funding.



Assistant Headteacher: Inclusion
Miss S Milne

Miss Milne first joined the school back in 2009 and has held many positions before her appointment as assistant headteacher in November 2015. As the designated safeguarding lead, her role is to create and maintain a caring, safe and stimulating environment for all members of our school community. Within this, she has specific responsibility for care, guidance and support to all students with strategic responsibility for SEND provision.


Assistant Headteacher: Christian Distinctiveness, Curriculum
and Post-16 Education

Mrs L Boon

Since 2004, Mrs Boon has played an integral part in our mathematics department where she was head of department for 6 years. Becoming Assistant Headteacher back in 2010, Mrs Boon's is currently responsible for ensuring our Christian distinctiveness and ethos is at the heart of all lessons, assemblies and chapter times as well as leading the strategic direction of our community and primary links programmes. She also has responsibility for the curriculum and for developing our post-16 programme.



Assistant Headteacher: Teaching & Learning Miss A Williams

Miss Williams joined the school in 2009 and has held many positions in the English department, most recently head of faculty. In 2016, Miss Williams was appointed Assistant Headteacher with strategic responsibility for teaching and learning where she monitors, develops and improves the overall quality of classroom practice within the school along with ensuring our staff receive quality continuous professional development and rigorous appraisal.

Further duties include overseeing the professional development programme, coordinating the coaching programme and leading the sixth form as well as providing school to school support as a Newcastle District Specialist Leader in Education (SLE).






Behaviour & Inclusion Manager Mr R Timmis

Mr Timmis has held many positions in our support services team since 2006, most recently as Business Manager. Mr Timmis was appointed Behaviour & Inclusion Manager in 2017, with strategic and operational responsibility for student behaviour and inclusion. As a Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead, his aim is to ensure that students remain both safe and happy within school and that standards remain consistently high.

Mr Timmis also has strategic responsibility for the safety, security and marketing of the school.


Business & Facilities Manager Mrs M Prince
Following 19 years working in the banking industry, Mrs Prince joined the staff at St Thomas’ CE (VA) Primary School in 2006 as Office Manager, and over the years the that role has developed into school business management.

Since September 2017, as part of the collaboration between The King’s and St Thomas’, Mrs Prince has operated across both schools as the Business and Facilities Manager. Responsibilities encompassed within the role include, facilities management, health and safety co-ordination and HR. The main focus however is on the effective and efficient financial operations of both schools and ensuring limited resources in the school budget are optimised to achieve the best educational experience for the students.



Heads of Faculty


Miss S Warner
Head of English Faculty


Miss Warner  currently has responsibility for English, media studies, religious education, modern foreign languages and drama.


Mrs S Turner
Head of Maths Faculty

Miss L Pattinson
Deputy Head of Maths Faculty



Mrs Turner and Miss Pattinson currently have responsibility for mathematics, art and design, geography, ICT and business studies.

Miss Sykes
Head of Science Faculty

Mr M Worthington
Deputy Head of Science Faculty

Miss Sykes and Mr Worthington currently have responsibility for science, physical education, childcare, history, music and design and technology.




Inclusion Team

Attendance Manager: Mrs Z Williams

Pastoral Support Assistants:
Mrs C Beek

Deputy SENDCo: Mrs A Nevard

Teaching Assistant: Miss N Thompson

Inclusion Support Assistants:
Miss S Beech
Mrs R Cresswell
Mrs D Hastings

Inclusion Support Apprentice:
Miss C Mulenga

Progress Team

Student Progress Manager Mrs K Hinchcliffe

Data Manager Mr M Toach

CEIAG Leader Miss H Kaminskas

Cover Supervisors
Mr D Barcroft

Exam Invigilators
Mr L Bould
Mr M Dutton
Mrs S Snape

Art & Photography

Miss L Pattinson

Miss E Stevens

Business Studies

Miss A Sharrock

Childcare and Health & Social Care

Mrs E Finnemore

Computer Science and ICT

Mr Z Aslam


Mrs J O'Hara-Douglas

Mrs K Berrisford


Mr T Harrison

Miss O Stanyer

Mrs E Verow

Miss A Williams

Miss E Carr

Mrs S Hammond


Mrs N Kelly

Miss A Sharrock


Miss J Bailey

Miss A Brown

Media Studies



Mrs L Boon

Mr M Haworth

Mrs S Turner

Mr W Wilson

Mr A Seymour-Hollis

Mrs Z Moody

Modern Foreign Languages

Miss L Stevenson

Miss S Warner


Mr T Smith

Physical Education

Miss H Kaminskas

Mr M Worthington

Religious Education

Mrs C Keay

Mr B Barber

Mrs K Berrisford


Miss L Sykes

Mrs L Toach

Mrs A Wright

Mrs S Bukhari

Miss E Butler

Miss L Leo


Miss L Harrison

Mr D Hinchcliffe

Miss S Collins

Support Services

Headteacher’s PA & Office Manager Miss M Till
Clerical Assistant: Finance Miss K Phillips
Receptionist Mrs D Patrick
Reprographics & LRC Supervisor Mrs A Greene
Business Administration Apprentice Mrs R Stevenson

Caretaker Mrs K Mathews
Site Security Officer Mr S Yousaf
Minibus Driver Mr R Green

ICT Technician Mr O Smith
Science & Technology Technician Mr J Sherratt

Catering Supervisor Mrs H Moores
Assistant Catering Coordinators
Mrs C Clarke
Mrs J Proctor

Kitchen Assistants
Mrs L Boyle
Mrs M Mann

Bistro Dining Assistant Mr M Sargeant

Mrs L Barlow
Mrs C Bridges
Mrs C Dennis
Mrs D Meadowcroft
Mrs B Walker

Lunchtime Supervisor(s)
Mrs D Meadowcroft
Mrs K Mathews